Dude

Sometime around eighth grade or so, I started saying ‘Dude.’  The word traveled far to get to me, from its origins somewhere in the uncouth middle America of the 19th century (where it referred to a city slicker out of his league in the wild west), to its deep envelopment in the coastal surfer crowds of the 1960’s (its original meaning already completely wiped out), to its jaunty expansion back inland, toward the ambling valleys and greenswept mountains of its founding.  Dude found me embarrassingly innocent in junior high school as the 80’s ended, and, finally, gave me one small way to sound like I wasn’t a child from 1942. I welcomed it like a puppy greets its first growl.

I had a tight-knit group of friends at that point, all of whom were Dude to me.  I was Dude to them as well, which was right and proper.  As the group of friends expanded, each new friend was Dude in turn, through high school, a time when friends seemed to just make themselves.  In time everyone was Dude, even a few of those girls whose charm was casual enough to hide under a guise of friendship for a day or two until you realized you never cared to be just buddies.  Dude drew boundaries and pledged allegiances and said whatever kind things teenage boys were never willing to just come out and say.

THEPHOTO

Dudes

It stayed with us in college, expanding wherever we could find the right mix of casual camaraderie with any new friend.  But even before then it had clearly come under attack. Not long after Dude came to our part of the world, it became tired, overused, and then—the death knell for any good slang word—was found in the mouths of overeager adults seeking esteem in the eyes of youth.  When a lady church leader saw us coming down the hall and said “Hey, look at those Cooool Duuuudes!” I wanted to abandon Dude forever.

But Dude never abandoned us.  Graduation came, we grew up and most of us moved away, and people expected us to start just saying whatever it was that Dude was letting us not say.  So I stopped.  I made plenty of friends after that, and hardly any of them was ever Dude.  I felt nearly certain that those years after college would make me get rid of it for good; that moving on was the price of growing up.  But right at that moment, when it was about to go for good, it didn’t go.  I saw my old friends on visits home or visits to each other, and I was surprised to find that they were all still Dude.  And Dude meant exactly what it had all the way back when it began.

FRNDMEAT

Dudes (example no. 2)

So I put my trust back where it had always been.  Close friends were never made as often as they once had, and they were intermixed with a far larger share of acquaintances and polite friendships than ever before.  But every once in a while I still came across a new friend, the real kind, and Dude would come right into the friendship as if it were 1990 all over again.

I am surprised to find myself still using Dude, and still finding new friends deserving the title, some 20 years after Dude came along.  The circle of people in my life bearing that honor is small—smaller than it was all those years ago.  But it is steady.  My co-writers here, a group of old friends, a handful of new old friends, and just three or four companions around the office.  When I dropped my first workplace Dude a couple years ago, I realized that the title was neither lightly used nor, I think, lightly received.  People who did not grow up in that crucial time may never understand the depths, the multivariate meanings, the subtext and implications of the term, nor the status it conveys.  But to those of us who did, Dude remains, strong as it ever was.

This entry was posted in Friends, Growing Up, Words. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dude

  1. Davis says:

    I’m just going to address the elephant in the room: Massey was a spray-tanner way back then?

  2. Molly P says:

    And it looks like he then gave big Ry some eskimo kisses! That is a very odd picture…I hope it was for an assembly or something and not just for friday night!

  3. Wade says:

    So, really. How has its been received by the people who don’t have the history with it? Has it been reciprocated? Because I imagine it could create some awkwardness if you say the D word and they respond back with “man” or maybe just a “Ry.”

  4. Ryan says:

    Yeah, it’s a sensitive process. You definitely have to feel them out on it, and you’d never drop it without some confidence of reciprocal D-ness. So far, I haven’t slipped up, though there’s always the risk. As my friend at the bank of Overseas,Taiwan might say, nothing ventured, nothing gained, you know?

  5. Layne says:

    Dude is my swiss army knife. I use it alot and unabashedly. It can have so many meanings. See the link to understand.

  6. Braden says:

    Eager as a puppy to greet it’s first growl. Wonderful work Ry. However, as evocative as that phrase is, I have to say that this post pushed you to new heights as a social critic/observer for articulating the idea of “the death knell for any good slang word—was found in the mouths of overeager adults seeking esteem in the eyes of youth”

    Brilliant. Brilliant.

  7. Ryan says:

    Brandon and Layne, I’ve been there. Like any good thing, it’s tempted to use in immoderation. Just trust me on this, though, if you keep this up, it won’t end well. If everyone is Dude, no one is.

  8. Andrea W. says:

    This is cute, in a caveman sort of way 🙂

  9. Norm says:

    Dude. You’ve done what all good writers do: articulate the tacit mores and social rules we all follow whether consciously or not.

    Two words that meant a lot to me back in the day. 1. Dude and 2. Suck

    I loved those two words. They both were a thousand words in one if you used them with the right people.

    Suck will never be the same. I really can’t get the same mileage out of it as I used to but fortunately “Dude” lives on in the right circles.

    Good post

  10. Ryan says:

    That’s so awesome to hear about your devotion to suck. Now that you tell me that, I can definitely remember you saying that frequently. I had no idea it was part of the very foundation on which you were built. Glad to know it. And I’m glad to know that dude lives on with you as well.

Leave a Reply

